Moss, the French Way

Moss, the French Way

As if my feature blog image isn’t self-explanatory enough, I fear that I do not have too many grand or inspiring stories to share this week.  Highlight: found some intriguing looking moss, living the life on a château wall.

Fortunately, living in a country whose language I can only half-speak renders everyday activities slightly challenging.  Try explaining to a cashier that although you just stood in line and watched him bag all of your items, that you forgot your wallet.  Or that, yes, I would like to purchase the FRENCH version of a book, even though I am obviously American – that was a tough one for the salesperson to grasp.

Even seeing a film is difficult – after two and a half hours of Sherlock Holmes French style, I emerged with no recollection of a plot, but reassured that Jude Law sounds better with his British accent.  Better yet, try explaining that, no, I am perfectly content without a ride from a creepy old man, even for 50 euros (50 EUROS?? I almost went for that one… just kidding.)  Luckily, the word NO is universally understood across most languages.

Above, a view of Nantes.  Fun fact: I am not quite sure why, but the whole grid system never caught on here, so my easily lost self becomes even more befuddled amid the streets that randomly change names and have no apparent organization.

Hey look what I found!  Another chateau!

Above, a snapshot of the Nantes general population, caught in the act of traversing a chateau, suited up in noir, with remnants of croissant on their mustaches.  Typical.

10 thoughts on “Moss, the French Way

  1. awww you look like you’re having so much fun!! Super awesome! Creepers definitely exist in every country, so have lots of fun but remember to be safe ;D

Leave a comment